• About the Guild

    The mission of the Dayton Theatre Guild is to provide entertainment, encourage the advancement of theatre art and provide the opportunity for cultural and technical growth through experience in live theatre.

    The Dayton Theatre Guild opened with Outward Bound at the Dayton Art Institute in late 1945 and has staged live theatre every year since, with more than 400 productions to date. After producing stage plays at both the USO and Dayton Art Institute, the Guild found a home in a carriage house in Dayton View in 1950. In 1963, the theatre moved to its home of 46 years on Salem Avenue, a converted postal substation that featured an 88-seat thrust stage. Finally, with financial support from Guild patrons and local foundations and trusts, the Dayton Theatre Guild purchased its final home in downtown Dayton’s Oregon District. The 2009-2010 season opened at 430 Wayne Avenue in August 2009, with Les Liaisons Dangereuses.

    The Guild has a tradition of producing seldom-seen plays, as well as bringing in contemporary shows and area premieres, without forgetting the classics. Its goal is to produce good plays done well, utilizing all-volunteer casts, crews and administration. Participation is open to anyone with a passion for theatre, regardless of prior experience.

     2019-2020 Board List

    Brian Buttrey, President
    Melanie Shannon, Creative Ops
    Carol Finley, Operations
    Debra Kent, Resources
    Deirdre Root, Treasurer
    Barb Jorgensen, Executive Secretary

    Members at Large

    Heather Atkinson
    Kathy Durig
    Rick Flynn, Publicity
    Scott Madden, Workshop
    Wendi Michael, Print Media
    Natasha Randall, Sunshine Person (Life event recognition)
    Jeff Sams, Building Superintendent
    Sarah Saunders
    David Senatore
    Blake Senseman, Properties Manager
    Ryan Shannon, Board Chairman
    John Spitler, Publicity, Box Office
    K.L. Storer, Podcast, Gala
    Debra Strauss, DayTony, Gala
    Christina Tomazinis (McQuinn), Advertising
    Scott & Kelly Wright

    Past Presidents
    Fred Blumenthal, Recognition & Awards
    Kathy Mola